Australian & New Zealand Obesity Society

The Mission

The society has six specific objectives on matters relating to overweight and obesity within Australia and New Zealand

  1. Ensure active communication with and between members of the society
  2. Promote interaction between different disciplines/perspectives on obesity and provide an independent and authoritative voice that represents the broad multi-disciplinary membership
  3. Be actively involved in policy development
  4. Promote an improved public understanding
  5. Promote an improved professional understanding
  6. Promote, facilitate research and nurture young researchers.

COUNCIL - 2017

President : Prof. Brian Oldfield
Vice President : Dr. Jane Martin
Secretariat : Assoc Professor Rachael Taylor
AOASO Past President : Prof. Ian Caterson
AOASO Education Chair : Prof Timothy Gill
AOASO/ORCPChief Editor : Prof. GaryWittert

Council Members

Assoc Professor Amanda Page
Assoc Professor Andrew McAinch
Assoc Professor Anna Peeters
Professor Brian Oldfield
Dr Chris Maloney
Assoc Professor Elizabeth Denney-Wilson
Assoc Professor Jerry Greenfield (
Assoc Professor Jon Whitehead (
Assoc Professor Leonie Kaye Heilbronn (
Dr Lynne Millar (
Assoc Professor Marina Reeves
Dr Michael Swarbrick
Assoc Professor Rachael Taylor
Professor Shirley Alexander (SCHN)
Assoc Professor Tania Markovic
Professor Timothy Gill
Assoc Professor Zane Andrews


Mike Pickford ( Administration
Heather Proud ( Membership
Kerrie Harris-Spencer ( Finances

Full address : Australian Science Network, 9 / 397 Smith Street, Fitzroy, Victoria,
Australia 3065

Tel/Fax numbers : ++613 86589530

Association Website :


Improve the management and prevention of obesity in the Australasian region through increased awareness and understanding, improved research on obesity issues and the identification of improved management and prevention practices.

  • Members : ??? people